Business English Certificate ( BEC)

The BEC exams are produced by Cambridge English. They test your English in a business context.

What level is BEC?
There are three levels of BEC:

  1. BEC Preliminary (B1)
  2. BEC Vantage (B2)
  3. BEC Higher (C1)

Who is it for?
The BEC Tests are designed for individuals.They would be very useful preparation for someone studying on a business course

What are the BEC tests like?
BEC is published by Cambridge English. The tests have four sections. Reading, writing, listening and speaking.

Where and when can I take the tests?
BEC is held on various fixed dates in centres worldwide. The tests are available monthly. Candidates must enter through an authorised centre. You can find details of dates and centres here.

Computer or Paper tests?
There are computer and paper versions of the test. Some centres will only offer one version. The speaking test is always an interview with an examiner.

Do I need to have business experience to take the BEC tests?
No, BEC tests your English in a business setting but you do not need to know specialised business vocabulary or concepts.

Visit the BULATS section of this web site for more Business English Practice Tests



B1 Business Preliminary

C1 Business Higher